

Other/Final Comments (if any):



Consolidation Committee Final Report

Committee Details	
Date: N	lovember 1, 2016
Commi	ttee Name: OWG 23 Faculty Honors and Awards
Commi	ttee Co-Chairs: George Thomas , ASU & Victoria Smith-Butler, DSC
Functio	onal Area: Faculty Affairs
Function	nal Area Coordinator: Abiodun Ojemakinde/ Tau Kadhi
leading up	ajor tasks your committee will need to take to accomplish your deliverables. Please provide more details for the tasks to the SACSCOC Prospectus development. Tasks for Committee Tracker from Final Planning Document and Recommendations
	To study and recommends various Faculty Honors and Awards
Recommendation and/or Action Taken:	
	After studying the existing faculty honors and awards at ASU and DSC (pre-consolidation) as
	well as taking into consideration the mission of the new ASU, the OWG 23 recommends five
	honors and awards for faculty in recognition of their service to the new ASU and the
	community.
	The honors and awards recommended by the OWG are:
	1) Teacher of the Year;
	2) Researcher of the Year;
	3) Public Service Award;
	4) Mentor of the Year; and
	5)Online Teacher of the Year.
2.	After reviewing the selection processes at ASU and DSC pre-consolidation, OWG 23 is
	concerned that these processes are not completely faculty driven and that administrators
	have too large a role in the selection processes on both campuses.
	OWG 23 recommends that the selection process for faculty honors and awards be faculty
	driven and that necessary guidelines and rubrics be developed by faculty for the selection
	process.